Day 1: OlaToxic

Thank you for the journey, 2015.

It’s brought me a mighty long way. It was unplanned and took me unawares, but it didn’t meet me unprepared. I’m still adjusting into the new fit. Still settling into the road. Still eager to see where it takes me.

Read the rest of my 2015 review here.


Hello 2016

It’s the first day of the fourth edition of the 30 Days of Hope project and this time, I’m going first.

I’ve never gone first.

And this is the first indication of something I plan to do differently this year and going forward – Go first more often. Just go. No more dilly dallying, no more foot-dragging, no more churning things over endlessly in my head.

Last year, there were no projects completed. There were no projects started even.

This year, several things will happen:

I’ll begin making and selling wrist bands again. Maybe make a proper, structured business out of it. I dunno. But even if it’s just as a small side hustle, is about time to get back to doing this thing that I really loved.

I’ll get my writing back up. Not like I have a choice. Writing and editing are a big part of the new job description. But that isn’t what we’re talking about here. We’re talking about fiction. There are so many stories swirling in the head that need to be told. Time to begin that book project.

olatoxic.com is going to be fully developed and this blog moved over there.

I’m going to get cracking on those instagram projects. All this professional social media managing experience and training kennot weist. As an extension, that digital marketing exam needs to be taken and aced. No more last minute rushes.

Love will happen again, somehow.

Project 40 before 40 begins. @son1ao inspired me a big deal when she declared she’d attained her goal of visiting 30 countries before she turned 30 someone last year. E pain me die say I don already turn 30 by that time. But oh well, life serves you lemons, you make lemonade right? I hope to have conquered 20 countries and 20 Nigerian states by the time I turn 40. Lay-overs and pass-throughs do not count.

My progress thus far?
Countries –
Ghana
USA
The UAE

Nigerian states –
Lagos
Abuja
Ogun
Oyo
Ondo
Osun
Ekiti
Kaduna
Katsina
Enugu

That’s 13 over 40. Let’s see how many more we can notch up this year. The goal is 3 new countries and 3 new states.

No pressure, man. No pressure.

21 comments on “Day 1: OlaToxic

  1. Cfao says:

    Happy new year! Wishing you a really beautiful 2016 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jade says:

    It begins 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I got a notification for this post and only then did it occur to me that it’s 01/01/2016!!!

    Happy new year

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Genny says:

    Happy New year. God will do exceeding abundantly all that you can even imagine this 2016

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nedoux says:

    Hi Tokunbo,

    This post sparkles with can-do energy and I love it. The newness of a New Year always brings positive ginger. 🙂

    I wish you loads of blessings and happiness in 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Vixenpixie says:

    Happy new year! I don’t expect any less from you.

    Like

  7. BiKé says:

    Happy New Year. Wishing you more blessings this year. Good luck with your list, I trust you’ll make all the list by 40. I’m already 40 but my dad made me a list when I was 23 but I never knew I would loose him at 25.
    He said if I was able to make 50% of the list by 41 he will fulfill the remaining 50% for me. I made 85% of the list by then but my dad wasn’t here to fulfil the 15% so I made another promise to myself to fulfill the remaining 15% by 45 and I’m so working on it.
    Good luck Bro and Happy New Year !!

    Liked by 4 people

  8. […] 1 – Toxic Day 2 – Coco | Lo Day 3 – talakbags Day 4 – Jyte Day 5 – Justin Day 6 […]

    Like

  9. 4evaphoenix says:

    I like that country list. “I’m gonna getchu (in the UK), it’s a matter of time” *dancing*

    Like

  10. Angie says:

    Nice. I really hope you accomplish errything. Especially the travelling.
    P.s how do you pick your 30 days of hope writers?
    I’d like to audition or something.😌

    Like

  11. Temitoria says:

    Please I need your email address Olatoxic. Thanks

    Like

  12. […] has achieved nothing. Not one single thing from the list I wrote at the beginning of the year. Not even a first step. At least, not yet. I decided I’d […]

    Like

  13. […] I set out to achieve a few things in the new year. As I’ve done every year since 2012, I spelt them out on my blog. This time they […]

    Like

  14. […] I set out to achieve a few things in the new year. As I’ve done every year since 2012, I spelt them out here. This time they […]

    Like

Comments are beautiful. Create a thing of beauty here: